Three Local Leaders Receive National Recognition after 50 Years of Service

Tamara Bliss, Alice Wolpert and Sondra Shick, LWV's new 50-Year Members

Tamara Bliss, Alice Wolpert and Sondra Shick, LWV’s new 50-Year Members

Achieving a 50-year milestone is always an accomplishment. This year marks the 50th anniversary of membership in the League of Women Voters for Tamara Bliss, Sondra Shick and Alice Wolpert.

Although the League of Women Voters of Newton (LWVN) is more than 75 years old, the honorees all began their League experiences in other communities.  As they moved around the country, they sought out their local Leagues as a way of engaging in thoughtful discussion and activity while learning about their new communities.  They then brought these talents to LWVN.

  • While a member of the Boston League, Tamara Bliss was instrumental in setting up a Community Leadership Center in Jamaica Plain.  She moved to Newton and immediately helped to set up a conference on Affordable Housing. 
  • Sondra Shick’s involvement in Fair Housing and Education in Miami, FL meant she brought important skills to address the needs of Newton, her new community. 
  • Alice Wolpert joined the League in Columbia, MO and loved the discussion groups. During moves to other locations she was involved in getting-out-the-vote, and continues working on this today in Newton.

 “Through the unselfish commitment of leaders like Tamara, Sondra and Alice, the League remains a force for change in this community and others across the country,” said Sue Flicop, LWVN President. Their efforts were recently acknowledged by the US League of Women Voters President, Elizabeth MacNamara. Certificates were presented at the LWVNewton Annual Meeting, May 30, 2013.

Voter Registration Efforts Continue Through the Spring and Summer

In the recent weeks, LWVN registered 178 high school students from Newton North and South to vote! A very special thanks go to Sharyn Roberts, organizer and chair of the voter registration drive, along with volunteers Jo Corro, Marlene O’Brien, Tami Roberts, and Sue Rosenbaum. Great job everyone!

Voter registration work is a never-ending job, with our volunteers working at the recent village days and upcoming summer Farmer’s Markets at Cold Spring Park.  If you can help, please contact

LWVN welcomes its new 2013-2014 Board

LWVN is pleased to announce its new Board of Directors for the 2013-2014 term.  At the recent Annual Meeting, members voted unanimously to elect the following people:

President:  Sue Flicop

Co-Vice Presidents:  Ellen Glusman and Jo Corro

Treasurer:  Andrea Kozinetz

Secretary/Clerk:  Bonnie Carter

Directors:  Anne Borg, Ann Grantham, Linda Green, Rhanna Kidwell, Lois Levin, Sharyn Roberts and Sue Rosenbaum

Welcome and we look forward to working together in League for the betterment of our community!

Return to top of page